Virgin book-out

I’ll admit that for 3 weeks, the thing I was looking most forward to was Jieshun’s first book-out.

The thought of spending 3 weeks without seeing someone that I’d been seeing every day for the past 2 years kinda scared me. To tell the truth, the 3 weeks flew by and barely felt like 3 weeks. Perhaps it was due to the fact that I packed each day with activities to prevent myself from thinking about it too much.

As the day finally approached, I realized that not only was this the ‘Virgin book-out’, it would also be the ‘killer weekend’. Apart from having to spend time with him, I was committed to a 21st birthday party, a birthday order & a wedding order.

On the friday of the book out & the 21st birthday, I spent the entire afternoon baking in time for both the wedding and the birthday order. I went kinda crazy, rushing both orders (even forgetting to put sugar in my first recipe of marshmallow cupcakes). That kinda killed me cos I had to re-do everything and then rush down to Keppel.

Proud to show off Cake Spade’s first order ever :)

This batch was Red Velvet topped with Cream cheese frosting. Pretty delish, I gotta admit!

Met up with the churchies after a long long time for Bert’s 21st. Had a great time catching up. Really pains me a little that I stranded them halfway

The tequila gang ;)

The Birthday boy himself! Thanks for everything & the vvv wonderful party.

After that, I headed for a second dinner with Jieshun’s family. Was pretty yummy. Some place called 2 chefs.

Saturday was a day spent chilling & catching up & celebrating a good belated Valentine’s dinner @ The Tea Party, over at 6th Avenue. Was contemplating not telling yall bout this wonderful place since I liked it so much. The value was pretty good. For every main, we got a soup & a free drink plus a dollar off whatever dessert we chose. I was kinda full after the meal itself so we just shared a chocolate cake. Kinda a waste since the place is supposedly known for scones. Will letcha know about it when I go there again (for sure!).

Sunday was a crazy mad rush for me. Woke up and went to novena for mass 40 minutes early. All I could think about before mass started was the amount of time that could’ve been spent making my frosting/starting to frost my cakes. During mass itself, sadly, all that bothered me was how close the man on my right was squeezing towards me :<

Ran home & got started on making my cream cheesefrosting. Really owe it to my sis, jieshun & sean for helping me get everything into place. Dad did me a huge favour & drove me to Changi village to set up, and waited for me & sent me to Amc club for buffet lunch w js’s family.

Sent him off that night & had a good time seeing a flood of army boys getting ready for another week in army.

Wedding display

To end off this post, I’ll share my favourite Red velvet recipe. Hope all of you will enjoy it just as much as I do!

Red Velvet cupcakes (as adapted from The Hummingbird bakery, cupcakes & muffins)

Makes 12

Ingredients:

60g unsalted butter
150g caster sugar
1 egg
1 tbsp cocoa powder
2 tbsp red food colouring  Instead of using 2 tbsp as recommended, I cut it to 1tbsp & still manage to get that red coloured as desired. I heard that the reaction between unprocessed dutch cocoa powder & vinegar actually produces the redness of the cake. Also, beetroot can be used to replace the colouring
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
120 ml buttermilk I couldn’t find buttermilk the first time I made this and still continue to use fresh milk
150g all purpose flour (sieved)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1.5 tsp white vinegar

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees celcius

1. Put butter, sugar in an electric mixer till light and fluffy.

2. Turn the mixer up to high speed and slowly add the egg & beat till well incorporated

3. In a separate bowl, mix cocoa, red colouring & vanilla extract to form a thick paste.

4. Add this to the butter mixture and make sure all is well combined and colorued
* In the original recipe, they’ll call for everything to be done with the mixer. i prefer to do it all by hand so that I don’t overbeat the mixture *

5. Alternate the milk & flour mixture (this consists of baking soda + flour), starting and ending with the flour.

Make sure you have a smooth and even mixture.

6. Fold in the white vinegar and fold a couple more times until the mixture feels even.

7. Spoon this into your muffin/cupcake cases till about 2/3rds full and bake for 20-25 minutes.

8. Leave the cupcakes to cool and prepare the cream cheese frosting

 

Cream cheese frosting

This is a self-made recipe. Have not tried out the hummingbird one before.

1 block Philidelphia Cream cheese
1/2 block (125g) Unsalted butter
1 rind of Lemon
1 tbsp (chinese one) Lemon Juice
4-6 tbsp (chinese one) icing sugar, to taste.

1. Cream the butter with the cream cheese. do not over beat.

2. Add the remaining ingredientse and beat for about 5 minutes until an even frosting is seen.

3. Pipe with 1m piping tip onto the cooled cupcakes & serve.

Hope you enjoy!

Stay tuned <3

 

Eugenia

3 comments
  1. Hahah Cedele uses beetroot juice. Pretty sure it’s the healthier alternative to colouring and sweetness!

    • I know! But somehow cedele’s red velvet is kinda dry! I’ll try the beetroot soon!

      • Really? Didn’t seem dry to me when I tried it. Your wedding display looks gorgeous by the way! Can you supply cupcakes for my wedding reception in a few years? Hahahah

Leave your thoughts!

