Light Tofu Cheesecake!

For the past week, I had been cracking my brain to think of the perfect cake to make for my dad’s birthday. The sugar content couldn’t be too high and, I wanted the cake to be something that was light and easy to eat.

I’d initially thought of making a Japanese souffle cheesecake (like those you buy from Fiesta at Thomson Plaza), to relive my childhood memories of a soft cotton-like cheesecake that I loved. However, due to mixed reviews online, I was kinda hesistant and decided to try something safer.

I recalled the tofu cheesecake I had at Sun with Moon which was pretty yummy. It had a very mild cheese flavour and a good balance of tofu. The silkiness of the cake paired together with the crunchy biscuit base made it simply delightful.

I flipped through the new book I bought and found a ‘Lite Tofu cheese cake’ recipe which seemed really simple to prepare. It was a good opportunity for me to try out the recipes.

The cake turned out pretty well. I ran out of marie biscuits so I just crushed whatever biscuits that was available and made the base. That turned out pretty good although I’d stick to digestive biscuits which are much more flavouful.

As for the cheese section, several improvements could be made. Instead of tasting like a cheese cake, it tasted more like a tofu cake. It reminded me of the beancurd pudding that is really popular nowadays (Lao Ban). I guess the word ‘lite’ can be taken very seriously in this case.

That aside, my dad and everyone else really enjoyed the cake. If you’re looking for something that still retains the cheesyness of the cake, then this isn’t the cake for you. If you’re a fan of soy bean, then this would be perfect.

I saw a couple of other recipes on no-bake tofu cheesecakes so I’ll try them out next time for a comparison.

Lite Tofu cheese cake (adapted from Alan Chow’s Indulgence Mousse Cakes)

Biscuit Base:

  • 60g Marie biscuits
  • 30g Unsalted butter
  • 5g instant oatmeal (I left this out)

Tofu cheese filling:

  • 300g soft tofu (the type that can be used for steaming dishes)
  • 50g milk
  • 20g Gelatin Leaf
  • 150g whipping cream
  • 75g Low fat cream cheese (I used normal Philly cream cheese)
  • 80g sugar

Directions:

  1. Crush biscuits till crumbs. Melt butter in a microwave (about 10 – 20 seconds) and combine with crushed biscuits and instant oatmeal. Press crust onto a bottom of a Springfoam pan (8″)
  2. Whisk whipping cream till soft peaks (in the book it said frothy as frozen yogurt)
  3. Blend tofu and milk in a blender till smooth. Sift to remove lumps and set aside. (Note that I was too lazy to sift cos I knew the mixture was very smooth after blending it forever)
  4. With a whisk, beat low fat cream cheese and 40g sugar on low speed till smooth. Pour the tofu mixture in.
  5. Add dissolved gelatin leaf to cheese filling and stir well (I just continued using the mixer)
  6. Add in whipped cream. I found it kinda hard to do it without the mixer so I just put it on low and scraped the sides till the mixture was smooth. You can sift it here if you like cos it’ll give you a better consistency.
  7. Pour in tofu cheese filling and chill till firm.
  8. For the decor, I used Wilton’s stencils and sieved green tea powder over.

That’s all for today!

Love

Eug

3 comments
  1. afracooking said:

    This cake looks absolutely stunning! It sounds like it would taste great as well!!(and you use the same lay-out as I do for my blog – which I just love :-> )

Leave your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

