Black Sesame Macarons w Azuki Bean Paste filling

Hello friends!

Had a real busy week at work, which left me with little time to update or to try out things.

Once the week was over, I jumped on the opportunity to try out what I took away from my macaron class last week.

I made some modifications to the recipe and am pretty pleased with the results (see below).

When I went for the lesson, I found that the macaron shells were too sweet, making me assume that the only way to ensure that my macarons weren’t overly sweet would be to have a less sweet filling. I dared not cut down on the sugar level of the macarons for fear of disappearing feet.

Instead of using 150g of ground almonds, I substituted it for 100g of ground almonds and 50g of ground black sesame (which can be bought at Daiso. They have everything!).

The taste came out really good. If you’re a fan of black sesame, I guarantee that this is your thing. The black sesame taste seems to hide, quite well, the sweetness of the macaron shells.

Considering it’s the first time I’m making my macaron shells on my own, I’m really satisfied with the results. The one thing I know I have to work on, though, is the roundness of my macaron shells. If you notice in my photo on top, it’s kinda pointy on two of the shells. That’s due to the fact that i underbeat my batter (if you beat it more, it’ll become more fluid. I was hesistant as I didn’t want my shells to spread too much). Should I face with this problem again, I’ll just take a spatula to flatten the top.

Going to try another batch next week so stay tuned ^^

Black Sesame Macaron shells:

Makes about 30 normal sized macarons / 50 smaller sized macarons like those I photographed (not the tiny ones)

Ingredients:

225g Icing sugar
100g Ground almond
50g Grond Black sesame
6 pinches of salt

150g egg whites (I aged mine for 2 days without covering them in the fridge)
105g caster sugar

Directions:

  1. Sieve icing sugar, ground almonds, black sesame and salt together. (The sieve is not a flour sieve but more like those that you use to drain the water from the veg. Holes are slightly larger). Whisk mixture till evenly mixed
  2. Whip egg whites till foamy, then add caster sugar in 3 batches and whip until stiff peaks form (the more you beat, the drier the macarons get. Do not over beat or the elasticity will break and you can’t use your egg whites)
  3. Sieve almond mixture over egg whites and fold in (downards), in about 2 additions
  4. Pipe the rounds using a #12 piping tip. I took my fondant circle cutter to mark the size of the macaron shells that I wanted, to get a more even macaron shell size.
  5. Dry rounds in an air-conditioned environment until they are matte and dry
  6. Bake in a preheated oven of 150 degrees celcius for about 11 minutes (cover the top at the last few minutes of baking to prevent browning)
  7. Cool completely before peeling off paper

* To check if the macaron shells are ready, hold one of the shells and shake it. If it moves the whole paper, it is ready. If not, the shell will feel like it is going to break off.

Azuki Bean Paste filling:

I got kinda lazy on this one and bought pre-made red bean paste from Phoon Huat. Once I’ve used it up, I’ll be sure to make my own!

Ingredients:

113g Cream Cheese
60g Butter
3 heaps of Chinese tablespoon of icing sugar
280g Azuki Bean paste

Directions:

  1. Cream the cheese and butter till soft and fluffy
  2. Sieve in icing sugar and beat till fluffy
  3. Add in azuki bean paste
  4. Pipe onto macaron shells

That’s all for now! Hope that your macarons will turn out as mine did :)

Lemme know if you do try em out :)

PS. I just purchased the Laduree Sucree: The recipes book. Pretty stoked to get it (only in May when I’m in UK though). Will update yall when it comes <3

Love

 

Eug

Leave your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

